1111. Kushiel’s Legacy (Phèdre’s Trilogy) by Jacqueline Carey

Not for the prudish, Kushiel’s Legacy primarily takes place in the country of Terre d’Ange (Land of the Angels) where the people live by a simple precept, “Love as thou wilt,” and prostitution is considered a sacred duty. The heroine of the trilogy, Phèdre, is marked by a god and fated to feel pain and pleasure as one. Taken in by a nobleman and trained as a spy, her unique talents allow her to discover various secrets and eventually uncover a plot that threatens the whole of Terre d’Ange. Phèdre must use all her skill and wit if she is to save her country from treachery. Notable for its lush prose, evocative worldbuilding, and intricate plotting as well as ample doses of eroticism and characterization, this trilogy is quite unlike any other you’ll read. Here is our review of Kushiel’s Dart.

1212. The First Law Trilogy by Joe Abercrombie

This gritty noir fantasy was Abercrombie’s breakthrough work and comes complete with a delightfully w13icked sense of humor and unforgettable characters that walk the line between hero and villain. The plot revolves around the fortunes of three main characters—an infamous barbarian, a crippled torturer, and a self-centered nobleman—as three great nations go to war. This is perfect for those looking for an unpredictable, raw, grimy, and cutting-edge fantasy read.

1313. The Night Angel Trilogy by Brent Weeks

Brent Weeks’ extremely popular debut trilogy tells the tale of a young guild rat who trains to become the ultimate assassin. Another gritty modern work with believable and morally ambiguous characters, its exciting and action packed plot, fast pace, and accessible prose make it a perfect entry point for anyone new to the fantasy genre while still providing more seasoned fans with a worthwhile read.

1414. The Icewind Dale Trilogy by R.A. Salvatore

Taking place in the Forgotten Realms setting of Dungeons & Dragons fame, this trilogy first introduced readers to one of the best loved fantasy characters of all time, the dark elf Drizzt Do’Urden. Having escaped his brutal underground homeland, Drizzt has taken up residence on the surface, living near dwarves and humans in Icewind Dale. Here he is content, despite being shunned by society as a whole. However in the valleys below lurks an evil force, the demonic power of Crenshinibon, the crystal shard. To save Icewind Dale, Drizzt must embark on an epic quest, joining forces with a young barbarian, a grizzled dwarf warrior and his adopted human daughter.

adamantine.palace.MECH.indd15. A Memory of Flames by Stephen Deas

The first three books of A Memory of Flames constitute an epic trilogy in their own right while also serving as a prelude to a ongoing series. Deas introduces us to the empire of the Dragon Realms, where tamed dragons, kept in check by drugs administered to their food and water, serve as mounts and status symbols for the rich and powerful. While conniving nobles try to bribe and manipulate their way to the throne, a lone dragon escapes her bondage and embarks on a quest to free her kind. Unbeknownst to them, the rivals for the throne could soon be facing a very fiery rebellion. Check out our reviews to find out more—The Adamantine Palace, The King of the Crags and The Order of the Scales.

1616. The Wolfblade Trilogy (The Hythrun Chronicles) by Jennifer Fallon

This sweeping epic tells the tale of Marla Wolfblade, sister to the corrupt and perverted High Prince of Hythria. In a fiercely patriarchal society, Marla must leave behind her naïve adolescence and quickly learn the infamous rules of gaining and wielding power if she is to have a say in her future and protect those she loves. The dwarf Elezaar may be just the man to teach her. More focused on intrigue and politics than battles and bloodshed, it will nevertheless appeal to readers looking for a well-written, gripping tale with complex and believable characters.

1717. The Axis Trilogy/The Wayfarer Redemptionby Sara Douglass

The Wayfarer Redemption is perhaps the most well-known work of popular Australian fantasy author Sara Douglass. A thousand years after the Acharites drove the Forbidden from their land, an unnatural winter has descended on the north. At a border stronghold, icy wraiths appear from within the mists, killing hundreds of soldiers in the blink of an eye. The Acharites believe the end times have begun; however, the truth may be somewhat more complicated. Notable for its fast pace, imaginative scope, and characterization, this series is a definite page-turner that is well worth a read.

1818. The Black Jewels Trilogy by Anne Bishop

This dark fantasy series introduces readers to a world where women rule over men and one’s social standing is decided by magical power, visible by the color of jewel they wear. The realm of Terrielle is dominated by cruel and corrupt Queens who mercilessly destroy any potential rivals and exploit the land and its people. However, a new power is rising, in the form of a young girl called Jaenelle.  She may one day have the power to cleanse the realms of evil, but only if she survives to adulthood despite the many enemies who seek to destroy her. Addictive, evocative, and unashamedly sensual.

1919. The Sword of Shannara Trilogy by Terry Brooks

One of the most popular fantasy epics of all time, this trilogy tells the classic tale of a seemingly hopeless quest against an insurmountable evil. As darkness threatens their world, normal people must rise up to defend all that they hold dear. An easier read than Tolkein, yet dealing with a similar struggle of good versus evil, this trilogy begins Brooks’ long-running epic and is a great introductory text for readers who are still new to the fantasy genre.

2020. The View from the Mirror by Ian Irvine

Ian Irvine’s debut series is the first set in the Three Worlds.  In what could be described as a Darwinian fantasy, it focuses not on a fight between good and evil but the struggle for survival between four human sub-species. While once there existed three distinct worlds, each with their own race of humans, the balance is upset when a fourth race, driven almost to extinction, comes fleeing through the void. Now the worlds lie on the brink of a terrible and all-consuming war. This absorbing and powerful tale boasts an original concept, an interesting plot, a well crafted world, and developed believable characters.

sursa: Ranting Dragon

Etichete:, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comentariile nu sunt permise.

%d blogeri au apreciat: